Like A Boss – guest blog by A. Renee Hunt

Hello, my pretty little weirdos!

Over the next few months, I will be posting, semi-regularly, some guest blogs from people that I absolutely love. These wonderful humans all have something to say and all are amazing. They are all a little bit weird too. Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t get along with them too well! 

So, without any further, unnecessary dribble from me, here is the beautiful Book Blogger, Reviewer, Author and full-time goddess…

arhunt

Hello! My name’s Alyssa, but I normally go by my pen name, A. Renee Hunt. This guest post, thanks to the lovely Adelise, is on my very first mistake when it comes to the wonderful world of publishing.

First, let me state that by no means do I consider myself a professional. It took me a long time to get to where I am today, and believe me- it’s not where I thought I’d be. I endured two major trials before taking my stand as an author today. I’m independent, I have total control and I’m can truly state: I’ve sold more books now than I have my entire career, which began five years ago! So what did I do? That’s number two…

Back in 2012, I chose to publish a novel I’d written. I took a chance and sent out three query letters and received three responses. I thought I’d done my homework and researched well, hoping to avoid scammers and vanity publishers, whomp whomp whomp. Sadly I did not.

I accepted a contract and happily paid out $3200 for forty copies of my book up front and a blah blah blah. The publisher, who’s name I will not share to prevent bashing, took me for a ride. They sold none of my books; I did the selling. They got me no book signings- I did that too, and my book’s website (made by them) was NOTHING like the website I’d created on my own http://www.areneehunt.com. Not to mention the book was edited so poorly, I nearly cried when I tried to read it cover to cover. How could this happen?

I was brand new to the game and I’d allowed myself to be duped. I was taken in by the glitz and glam. I’m Christian (not that it matters), so I’d chosen the publisher that claimed to be as well and promised to only have the best interest of their investment- my book, at heart. But they didn’t. I ended up taking my book back, at a sticker price I felt raped me of my dignity and love for traditional publishing. I sat that book on a shelf, for revamping and went with a new publisher for a novella of mine.

Though I paid no money out, they didn’t do anything for me either, except make a book! I was PO’d by this time and began reading more author blogs to find out what I was doing wrong! I read and researched until I discovered the world of independent publishing. I didn’t rush right in because I was afraid of being burned again. Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice shame on me. Third time: What the h-e-double hockey sticks, man!?

So I chose a company I’d never heard of, thanks to an author friend. They worked with ebooks only and allowed me to share with a variety of venues, independent as well as big name. My title got out to the world and I felt accomplished! I did so well with said company, I moved it to Amazon and sold. I was so thrilled, and from that day forward, I considered myself a true author. No paying to have it seen. I chose my own cover, the formatting, the story was critically edited and I felt like a winner.

So, the moral of the story: First, do not pay to have your book published. It’s not necessary. Two, you don’t have to be traditionally published in order to get your book into the world! Stay determined and do what you want to do, but make sure you do your homework first! You don’t want to lose out on your money like I did. Can you imagine the places I could have visited with that money?

I hope you enjoyed my story and have a great one. Cheers!
Alyssa

http://www.areneehunt.com
a.reneehunt@aol.com
http://www.facebook.com/AlyssaHunt40
https://www.instagram.com/bookzbookzbookz/

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Simon says:

    I like the story in this post, I think it speaks volumes for whyself publishing exists! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes! I feel really bad for Alyssa too. I understand how heartbreaking it must’ve been to get to where she is today. I just want to reach through my computer and give her a cuddle!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Simon says:

        M that’s the thing with fellow bloggers you want to help them through their bad times and be with them in the good! 😊

        Liked by 2 people

  2. areneehunt says:

    Believe me- I learned a great deal over the years, but honestly I am grateful. Had I just relaxed and done more research, I’d have saved myself a lot of money! LOL You live and learn. Thanks for the comments friends!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are a sweetheart!

      Like

Leave a Reply

